Euskal Oiloa Chicken Forum

A place to find out more and share what you know about this awesome rare poultry breed! **NOTE: Those who wish to register as a new member on the forum are asked to email eochickenforum@gmail.com and an Administrator will gladly help you join the forum!

You are not logged in.

Adverts

Adverts

#1 2014-03-10 02:34:27

la-chicken

Price for Culls?

I have no idea what to charge for culls ( young adults).:huh:
I can make a pair or is it just better to eat them. :eat:

I am very new to this breed.  Bring on the learning!!!

2014-03-10 02:34:27

AdBot
Advertisements

#2 2014-03-10 11:20:21

poplar girl
Administrator

Re: Price for Culls?

Well opinions on what is best may differ la chicken but I have had good success finding homes in urban or barnyard layer flocks for the cull pullets. I try not to sell a rooster with them and make it clear I consider them " pet/layer" quality so I mostly :eat: the boys. I have charged as much as $30 a pullet and as little as given them to a friend for free. In central Alberta there seems to be a good market for friendly laying hens.

Raising red cuckoo (marraduna) Euskal Oiloak and self blue (lavender) & black Belgian Bearded d'Uccles.

#3 2014-03-10 12:20:12

la-chicken

PG- Thanks, sometimes you need to hear your thoughts from others. 

I am planning what to do if I hatch tons from my own stock.  I already planned not to sell chicks.  I want to grow out all chicks then cull out.
And yes, PG  I will be looking to you for some help.  I need to deveolp an educated eye.

I am very new to this breed.  Bring on the learning!!!

#4 2014-03-10 13:26:20

Flat Rock Farm

I know I have 4 culls (hens) right now that I am asking $10.00 each for, they are 2 years old and still laying and I have had not 1 person interested in them.  I have had them advertised for a month now :huh:

#5 2014-03-10 13:40:13

hollowridge

Flat Rock Farm wrote: