Euskal Oiloa Chicken Forum

A place to find out more and share what you know about this awesome rare poultry breed! **NOTE: Those who wish to register as a new member on the forum are asked to email eochickenforum@gmail.com and an Administrator will gladly help you join the forum!

You are not logged in.

Adverts

Adverts

#1 2012-08-21 17:24:24

dahlisgrams

How many to start?

I am new to the breed but really want to do EOs justice. How many birds do I really need to start with? Obviously choosing the best examples and working from there. Is a dozen enough? I'd originally wanted to work with several breeds but am rethinking this and am now down to two, EOs included. I am open to any and all suggestions for doing this right and have been reading everything I can get my hands on. I don't have the desire or space to breed on a large scale and I'd rather focus on quality rather than quantity, so my question is am I doing the breed a disservice by only keeping and breeding a few?

2012-08-21 17:24:24

AdBot
Advertisements

#2 2012-08-21 18:44:39

NaturesPace
Website

Re: How many to start?

I don't really  have an anwer for you but someone else here should. But my first question to you would be... when you say a few birds, how many birds can you keep? 5? 12?...

Somethings to think about too:
what is your plan for your culled birds? if you hatch out 30 birds you might only keep 4 of them for breeding.
what is your plan for breeding them? meaning, do you plan to sell hatching eggs, keep a flock for yourself and friends only...?

I know several EO forum members hatched out a lot of chickens this year and only kept 8 or so. (by a lot, i mean at least 50-100)

Sorry i'm not much help.

More pictures and videos of chicks. www.outoforderacres.com

#3 2012-08-21 19:10:12

dahlisgrams

NaturesPace wrote:

I don't really  have an anwer for you but someone else here should. But my first question to you would be... when you say a few birds, how many birds can you keep? 5? 12?...